My New Favourite Thing …

Is my slow cooker:

Crockpot

Work commitments plus the social lives of my children mean that there’s not always much time for cooking, especially during the working week. I found that I was cooking the same kind of meals each week because they were quick and easy but they weren’t always particularly tasty or interesting. I did a bit of research on the internet and read various reviews, we went to the shops and I chose the ‘Crockpot’ above. The fact that the ceramic dish can be used on the hob to brown meat first and/or soften onions etc is a real bonus. We’ve had our slow cooker for just over a week and I’ve used it 4 times so far to cook: salmon; lamb; pork and chicken. All have been delicious and ‘melt-in-the-mouth’ tender. The lamb korma below was incredible – I tried to persuade my family that it was down to my skills as a cook and had nothing to do with the crockpot but I don’t think they fell for it!

Lamb Korma

Yesterday we had pulled pork wraps, again the meat was succulent and tender – not at all dry or chewy. The pork joint had been slow cooking for 8 hours in orange juice and beer, an interesting yet tasty combination. It had been rubbed with a variety of herbs and spices which gave it a very subtle, warm rather than spicy flavour.

Pulled Pork Wraps

I think that the best thing about our crockpot slow cooker is that there are now days when I come home from work and the house is filled with the aroma of a delicious home cooked meal – my husband says that now I know what it’s like for him when he gets home, what a lucky man he is!!!

4 thoughts on “My New Favourite Thing …

  1. Ooh I know how you feel, my mum gave me one for Christmas! I cooked a whole chicken in it the other day. It was yummy 🙂 The only problem was it was difficult to get it out because it was literally falling apart! Your meals look delicious.

    • Hi Beth, thanks for your comments – so kind. I love the idea of doing a whole chicken in there, I’ll have to give that a go. I’ve not posted in a long time but felt I had to share my new found love!!

Leave a Reply

