Spice Up Your Life …

It was time for another recipe from ‘The Incredible Spice Men‘ tonight and it was the turn of chicken. The recipe is called ‘Chicken Breast Made Sexy’ which doesn’t really tell you much about the dish, nor the heat generated by the spices. There were fresh chillies, dried chillies and chilli powder, turmeric, cumin, coriander (ground and fresh), garlic and ginger. Whilst it was very spicy indeed, it was also really tasty, the spices did not overpower the chicken which was in fact the perfect carrier for these amazing flavours:

My spice collection seems to be slowly but surely growing. On the left is a photo of the inside of my ‘spice cupboard’, the labels having made several years ago but the system still works nonetheless. Having seen the idea on the top right in a foodie magazine, I decided to try it myself and now have some of my most used spices in magnetic containers (from IKEA), stuck to my fridge. As these are not labelled in a random order, they are arranged alphabetically: chilli, coriander, cumin, garam masala, paprika and turmeric. The one type of spice container that I was lacking was a spice rack for those spices which I wanted to keep in their original containers, as luck would have it, my oldest son made just the thing in DT at school today. He’s done an amazing job, it looks fantastic, it does what it’s supposed to do and I absolutely LOVE the sheep!spicesAll I need to do now is fill up my cupboard behind the spices, a few oils, vinegars and sauces should do the trick.

Leave a Reply

