Tech Trouble …Family Food …

The arts and crafts market where I had a stall on saturday went really well. The start was very slow but once people came out after their lunch, the afternoon was busy and I sold lots of cards. It’s given me a renewed confidence in my artwork and I’m determined to make more of an effort to sell my wares. The tech trouble referred to in the title of this post is to do with the time lapse film that my oldest son made of my stall on saturday. I’ve not worked out yet how to add it to a post but I will find out as he did a great job.

We had nothing at all planned on sunday which meant that I could potter about in the kitchen, cooking to my heart’s content. We’d had a very busy week last week and hadn’t managed to eat together as a family very often. Therefore, our late sunday lunch was going to be a chance for us to catch up with each other.

First to be prepared was a soda bread. I’ve never made one before and found it hard to resist the urge to knead. I was amazed at how quick and simple this was to prepare and bake – it tasted good too:

Our main course was a simple pasta and tomato sauce with chicken thighs. The tomato sauce was home made and was simply incredible. I had never before appreciated the difference between the taste of a shop bought sauce and a home made one. I’m not saying that I’ll never buy tomato sauce from a shop again, however, I now know that I can make my own version with relatively little effort:

To finish we had a crumble, using apples from the garden and oranges. I had never thought of adding orange segments to the apple but I found this recipe in my ‘Trifle Bowl‘ book and decided to give it a go. The result was a real surprise, even my youngest who will happily eat the crumble topping but not the apple, polished the whole lot off with the words ‘you can make that again mum’:

2 thoughts on “Tech Trouble …Family Food …

Leave a Reply

