Beautiful Brittany, Fabulous Food …

We have just arrived home after an incredible week in Brittany, Northern France. I’ve got lots of ideas for paintings, I hope to start one tomorrow. For today though, I was happy to be in my kitchen, trying to recreate some of the delicious dishes we enjoyed in France. Judging by the number of times my boys said ‘Mum, you have to make this when we get home,’ I’m going to be kept busy for quite a while!
Today, I tried to remember all of the flavours that were contained in a ‘Salade Gastonnaise’. I ate this on Monday, sitting at a table overlooking the beautiful harbour of Sainte Gustain, the port of Auray. The ingredients were (as far as I can remember): balsamic roasted tomatoes, croutons, finely sliced raw mushrooms, lettuce, parmesan cheese, air dried beef, a poached egg and boiled new potatoes:

20130814-201255.jpg

Everything was drizzled with balsamic vinegar and olive oil – whilst it didn’t taste exactly the same as my salad on monday, it was still delicious.

Pancakes are a firm favourite in our household and Brittany being the home of the crepe (I can’t find the symbols on my ipad, I knew I should have typed this on my laptop! Apologies for the lack of French accent on the word ‘crepe’), we had to try some whilst we were there. The recipe I used tonight is one that is printed on my Brittany tea towel:

20130814-201842.jpg

It’s made plenty of batter which will last us a few days. The batter was sweet and for our fillings we used some of the salted caramel (on the left) and orange caramel (on the right), which I bought from the market in Auray:

20130814-202046.jpg

Needless to say, they were incredibly sticky and unbelievably yummy!

20130814-202651.jpg

Leave a Reply

