It’s Been a While …

It really has been a while since I last posted and I’ve got lots of things to share. A combination of lots of work and my friend’s funeral have meant that I’ve not really been in the right frame of mind. However, I’ve had a lovely, relaxing weekend at home with my boys and I decided it’s time to post again.

The new header above was done today, here’s the full image:

Purple FlowersI’ve been looking at a couple of websites which permit you to upload an image (provided you have the rights to it) and create a ‘phone cover with it. I’ve used some of the above painting to do just that, I’ll let you see the finished article once it’s arrived here later this week.

There was a ‘New Moon’ here in Bristol a couple of weeks ago, it was simply a large illuminated balloon but it made the surrounding buildings look beautiful:

Here we have a sweet treat – puff pastry rolled out and lined with ground ginger, cinnamon and finely chopped apple, rolled up and then cut in to slices before being baked for about 10 minutes. A dusting if icing sugar ensured this was indeed a very sweet treat:
The morning of my friend’s funeral dawned and we were bathed in sunlight. It was a truly beautiful day and I had the tremendous honour of being one of her pall bearers, being so close to her on her final journey was incredible. Back to baking. I’d not baked a carrot cake for quite some time and I’m not sure why I baked one last weekend, I obviously had a sudden urge to make one. This one was made using Nigel Slater’s recipe from volume 1 of Tender. It’s a beautifully moist cake and the frosting is astonishing being a combination of mascarpone cheese, cream cheese, icing sugar and orange zest: This is a lemon chicken that we had mid-week. It has to be one of the tastiest chicken recipes I have ever had. It’s from the stunning book “What Katie Ate, Recipes and other Bots and Bobs’. The chicken is actually baked in the oven, first covered in a simple paprika and flour combination, then covered in a sauce made up of soy sauce, lemon juice, olive oil, balsamic vinegar and garlic: Final photo for tonight, Chocolate Cupcakes – with a difference! These had their centres removed, the holes were filled with chocolate buttercream icing, melted chocolate was then poured onto the top where it was left to set, dusted with purple sugar crystals. They were delicious – soon, when it’s my husband’s birthday, I plan to make him some of these but with salted caramel centres instead…

 

5 thoughts on “It’s Been a While …

  1. You have been on a very important mission of love and care Rachael. I remember back to some hints you might have given us a while ago. Lovely to see you back with these beautiful serene photographs and gorgeous food! Thank you.

    • What a lovely and kind comment Philippa, thank you. I know that it happens to us all at some point but that doesn’t make it any easier. I’m looking forward to painting more again now that the evenings are just beginning to stay lighter for longer. How are things with you? I must get back in to reading other people’s blogs, including yours, your work is truly inspiring.

Leave a Reply

