The Main Event …

The food at Christmas is a real highlight for me. I love repeating some recipes each year, to the extent that they become part of our family’s traditional Christmas. A great example of this is our Biscuit Tree :

This year, my 10 year old made our biscuit tree – he prepared the biscuit dough, baked the biscuits, iced the biscuits and built the tree, all with only a small amount of help from me. I was very proud of him, he did a superb job.

Another of our favourites is the Salted Caramel Tart that I first made last year, click here to see the post. Here is this year’s version:

I also like to try a few new recipes each year. To begin our Christmas meal, we had some delicious smoked salmon blinis, served with an anchovy and tarragon butter:

To follow we had the traditional roast turkey, served with roast potatoes, curried carrots and parsnips, my mum’s stuffing, pigs in blankets and the chutneys and pickles that I had made during the past few weeks. Sadly, I didn’t photograph the main course, but I did make the leftovers in to a kind of roulade/puff pastry meal on Boxing Day:

To follow our turkey, we had a choice between the Salted Caramel Tart and a Caramalised Clementine Pavlova :

All in all, it was a very tasty Christmas !!

2 thoughts on “The Main Event …

Leave a Reply

