Abstract Sailing Boats …

For my painting today, I decided to try and see if I could mix some autumnal colours with an abstract image of sailing boats at the docks. I practised drawing the shapes on scrap paper first – I wanted to create a sense of flow without making the shapes too obvious, this was going to be an abstract after all. Once I was happy with the shapes in my painting, I used white oil pastel to outline them on the watercolour paper. Next it was time to sort the colour scheme. I went for a range of reds and oranges as the base palette, shots of green and blue were then added to create interest.

Here’s the end result :

and here’s a close up:

 

2 thoughts on “Abstract Sailing Boats …

Leave a Reply

