A Savoury Sensation …

We had a lovely trip to Cardiff today, despite the rain. I went to one of my favourite shops –  ‘Lakeland‘ where they sell anything and everything food related. I looked through the cook books on display and one in particular caught my eye. It’s ‘How to Bake‘ by Paul Hollywood, he of the Great British Bake Off. I’ve picked up so many tips whilst watching both the series and the masterclasses that I thought I’d take a look inside his book. I was not disappointed! His main focus is definitely bread and savoury baking, although he does include cake baking in this book. There are so many recipes in this book that I’m impatient to try out – I was writing my shopping list whilst we were on the train, headed back to Bristol.

On returning home, I defrosted some organic bacon and some puff pastry (shop bought, I admit, but I was tight for time to get these ready for our tea tonight). I used these together with some grated mature cheddar cheese to make my version of Hollywood’s ‘Mozzarella and Bacon Bites’ – I didn’t have any mozzarella to hand and so had to improvise.

They really were delicious – the boys polished the lot off and have requested that I make them again and soon! Here’s how they looked:

I’m sure that other cheeses would work equally as well, they would also be interesting made with sausage meat.

Next on my list are the Moroccan Pasties and a Milk Loaf.

 

Leave a Reply

