Mmm, Meringue …

There’s something about a boy looking up at me with big brown eyes, telling me he’s hungry and there’s only 1 type of biscuit left in the biscuit tin – drastic action was needed!! I knew there wasn’t enough time for me to bake something before tea so I had a rummage in the freezer and found the last of the cupcakes that I made about 2 months ago. Normally, I’ll make a batch of 24 cakes and I’ll put them all in the cake tin. I always end up with a few left overs that are no longer fresh enough to eat and they end up being thrown away. Well, no more! Having made 24 cakes about 2 months ago, I kept out 6 and froze the rest. Over the past 6 weeks or so I’ve taken out those that I’ve needed for butterfly cakes, trifles, small fruity gateaux type things and have defrosted them prior to decorating and/or using. Today I made use of the final 6. I was going to simply decorate them with raspberry jam and a spoonful of buttercream but as I had an egg white left over from my toad-in-the-hole batter, I made a tiny amount of meringue. It was just 1 egg white and 50g of sugar which, once whipped to stiff peaks was then spooned on to the cakes, I then used my blowtorch to ‘cook’ the outside of the meringue.

Below are the results and yes, my boy is hungry no more:

16 thoughts on “Mmm, Meringue …

Leave a Reply

