Painting, One Year on, Part 2 …

I enjoyed choosing 5 of my favourite paintings from the past year yesterday, so here goes with my second set of 5.

It was pure luck that the colours in this painting worked as well as they did. This was a fun painting to do and it made me think about composition as well as colour. The fact that I found some beautifully patterned paper to have as a backing was a real bonus!

This was one of my first attempts at an abstract painting. The shape was inspired by the my hair when it’s tied back!! Again I used white oil pastel and salt to add interest.

It was lovely to paint a picture that reminds me of my son’s last week at Primary School. It was an incredibly hectic but thoroughly enjoyable week and is certainly one he will remember for a long time.

I was pleasantly surprised with how this turned out, the colours worked well together and the splatters landed well!

I find subtle quite hard to do (much to my annoyance!) but I was determined to keep trying until I was happy with the result. I had to make myself stop painting and I’m so pleased that I did! This one is now framed and is in our front room.

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Painting, One Year on, Part 2 …

Leave a Reply

