Balloons Over Bristol …

My painting today was inspired by the balloons let off by the children at the leavers party on thursday evening. Each child held a balloon that had been filled with helium, they all then made a wish and let them all go together. We were really lucky with the weather and the balloons were a lovely sight against the blue of the sky.

My painting from today also includes 3 of Bristol’s landmarks:

I painted the balloons first and dried them at an angle so that the paint would dry darker at the base of each one. I love the way the colours have worked together and am pleased with the overall impact of having oversized balloons drifting over the miniature looking landmarks. I think this may be my new favourite painting!

8 thoughts on “Balloons Over Bristol …

  1. Lovely composition, lovely painting in my favourite colours, not surprised this is your favourite painting!

Leave a Reply

