A Lesson in Rhythm Design and Repetition …

Referring again to ‘Painting Abstracts’ by Rolina van Vlliet, I worked my way through her lesson with the above title. The focus in this exercise was on ‘rhythmic variations in shape’. In this exercise, Rolina uses just oil pastel, I wasn’t brave enough to do this but I did swap my white oil pastel for a black one! I also used my watercolour paints and a colour palette of red and orange with a little grey to add some shading. Blue-green splashes were added at the end to add interest:

 

I like the contrast between the hard lines of the oil pastel and the soft mixes of the watercolour paint – I’ll definitely be painting some more in this style!

Leave a Reply

