A single flower …

I’ve spent some time painting bluebells today, I was inspired by a photo that I saw recently. There were great swathes of blue-purple, mixed in with some greenery from the surrounding trees and ferns. However, I’m not sure that I’m totally happy with the painting, I may well try to improve it tomorrow.

Instead, I thought I’d post a photo of another blue flower picture, this time a mecanopsis:

This was painted using watercolour pencils, the effect on the petals was created by sprinkling salt sparingly when the blue and purple were still wet. Once dry, I carefully scraped the salt off, I think it looks a bit like dew. I’ll definitely be using this flower for a larger painting in the near future. I think it would work really well over a background similar to the one I used for my blue/purple tulips recently.

4 thoughts on “A single flower …

Leave a Reply

