Inspired by the colours of my scarf …

its surprising where ideas come from, sometimes they can be glaringly obvious, at other times, really mundane. This morning I had an idea of the mundane kind based on the colours of the scarf I am wearing:

I used sepia as my base colour and then added alizarin crimson, cerulean blue, viridian, burnt sienna and lemon yellow, using rectangles of various sizes and allowing the colours to mix and blend together as they wished, this is the result:

I’ve not yet stuck the paper on – I wanted to try different combinations of pattern before finalising those that I want to use. I’m not sure that this is a painting that I will frame but I do like the colours and the shapes they have created.

2 thoughts on “Inspired by the colours of my scarf …

Leave a Reply

