A Solitary Tree …

Using a similar method to my last painting, I painted the following this afternoon:

Today I used Burnt Umber as my background wash with additions of Viridian, Payne’s Grey and Raw Sienna. I love the viridian but am not so happy with the raw sienna – I think I’ve tried a bit too hard to add it in a relaxed way which has not really worked how I wanted it too.

Having re-read this post, I decided to have a go at improving the addition of the raw sienna, after all, if I’m not happy with how a painting has turned out it must surely be a good idea to see if it can be improved?!

Using a brush holding just water as well as a completely dry brush, I think I’ve managed to improve the line of raw sienna at the base of the painting:

Leave a Reply

