Happy Mothers Day …

I hope that all mums out there but especially mine, have had a lovely Mothers Day today. In honour of you/us all, I painted some more flowers this afternoon.  For my inspiration I used a yellow-orange gerbera that makes me smile each time I see it, it’s like a ray of sunshine in my kitchen:

My painting today took several hours – there were so many layers of colour, each layer being more intense than the last. I used cadmium orange as my base, viridian, burnt sienna, alizarin crimson and lemon yellow were each then added to separate pots of the orange.

I wanted to add some patterned paper (am liking my forays in to ‘water collage’) to further enhance the colours. I chose the stripy  pattern as I saw it as being the complete opposite of anything floral, I like the contrast it creates.

So here you are, a virtual bouquet of sunshine:

2 thoughts on “Happy Mothers Day …

  1. Love your new painting and the colours you have used , your collage flower looks very good too! The gerbera you have used for inspiration has such a depth of colour, just like a splash of sunshine, no wonder it makes you smile each time you look at it!!

Leave a Reply

