Energy food for a ‘Night Hike’ …

My 11 year old was due to take part in a night hike tonight. He, along with the rest of his scout group, were due to be setting off at 8pm for a 6.5 mile hike in the dark, with only a map, a compass and a whistle to help them. They had all been told to bring along some ‘energy snacks’ like chocolate bars. That got me thinking, not so long ago, hikers used to rave about the energy giving properties of ‘Kendal Mint Cake’, it being so much the better if it had been smothered in chocolate. Kendal Mint Cake has completely disappeared from the shops now, so I decided to make my own version:

 

 

Unfortunately for my son, tonight’s night hike has been cancelled as temperatures are predicted to fall lower than -6C, not great camping or walking in the dark weather. It does however mean that we all get to share these ‘Bristol Mint Creams’!

They were very easy to make, just whisk 1 egg white with 1/2 tsp of peppermint extract then gradually add 350g sieved icing sugar, until you have a dough. Knead this for a couple of minutes then roll out and cut into the desired shapes. Leave the creams to dry/harden for an hour or so, then cover with melted chocolate.

I have promised myself that my next ‘foodie’ post will be something savoury as there have been a lot of sweet/chocolate inspired posts recently! Think I may try my hand at some bread making …

2 thoughts on “Energy food for a ‘Night Hike’ …

Leave a Reply

