A sprinkle of magic …

I was wondering how long it would take until someone in my family asked me to make another ‘Chocolate and Salted Caramel Tart’, like I made a couple of days after Christmas. I think I followed the instructions exactly as I did the first time I made it, only this time, the caramel was a disaster. I think it was a combination of the heat being too high and me stirring it too much, but all the water evaporated and I was left with buttery sugar, or sugary butter depending on your view point. It seemed like such a waste to throw it in the bin so I had a little taste. What was a disaster became the triumph that will be forever known in our household as ‘fudge sprinkles’!

Having re-made the caramel, I was able to present the tart to my family with this wondrous addition. Needless to stay, it went down really well and I don’t think I’ll be able to serve this again without it’s additional accompaniment:

 

Leave a Reply

