The icing on the cake …

I think I can honestly say I am a fan of cake and today felt like a day for a carrot cake. I have to admit that when I’ve tasted carrot cake before I’ve generally  found it to be dry and a bit tasteless really. Last year though, I stumbled across a recipe for carrot cake, in Nigel Slater’s Tender Volume 1. He really is inspirational – all of his recipes just work. It was because I trust his foodie judgement so completely that I decided to give this carrot cake recipe a go. Suffice to say, he has not let me down yet. The cake itself is moist and light and the frosting is simply sublime. A heavenly combination of mascarpone cheese, philadelphia cheese and icing sugar:

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

