Caramel Conundrum …

I was lucky enough to receive ‘Short and Sweet’ by Dan Lepard this Christmas and today decided to make his caramel sauce – my sister-in-law and two nieces were coming for lunch today and I wanted to give the children something special on their ice cream. It went completely WRONG!! The recipe said to boil 100g caster sugar with 25ml water and to keep boiling until the liquid went a deep red colour. I didn’t even get that far as within a few moments, all the water had evaporated and I was left with 100g of caster sugar!! Time was against me so I didn’t get the chance to have another go at the same recipe. Instead I used the recipe for the caramel that I’d made for the Salted Caramel Tart earlier this week, I doubled the amount of cream as I wanted the caramel to be a pouring sauce – it was delicious:

20111230-200922.jpg

 

So far as the children were concerned, being able to top their ice cream off with caramel sauce, maltesers, marshmallows and/or raspberries, was a real hit!

Leave a Reply

