Happy Christmas!

I hope you have all had a wonderful, happy and tasty Christmas. Below is the Christmas ‘pudding’ that I gave to my family today. One of my children really doesn’t like a traditional Christmas pud, so I decided to come up with an alternative. The result was the Mary Berry chocolate sponge (the same recipe that I used a few weeks ago and decorated with chocolate buttercream and raspberries) , covered in a Grand Marnier cream. To make the cream I mixed together the zest of an orange, 75g sugar and 3tbsp Grand Marnier, this was then left to macerate for 30 minutes. I then strained the orange mixture through a sieve and added the double cream to the orange liquid. This was whipped till it would only just hold its shape. The chocolate cake was then smothered with the cream and the decorations were added. The firework candle was an inspired impulse purchase by my husband – a fab idea.

2 thoughts on “Happy Christmas!

Leave a Reply

