Getting the subject to be still …

my crazy but adorable lakeland terrier

During the summer, whilst I was trying out some different arty techniques, I had a go at using pastels. I decided to stick with the soft pastels – the oil ones looked too permanent for someone of my lack of experience and skill. I was looking around, trying to find inspiration in the back garden, when suddenly it bounded up to me, dropping a tennis ball in my lap. Yes, I chose my dog as the subject and this is the result:

 

He really is a beautiful dog and his fur has some stunning contrasts within it. He is mainly black and tan but there are hints of red in there as well as some almost white.

Leave a Reply

