Get knitted!

As part of my return to teaching I attended a local course. It was during this course that we all had to learn how to knit. I hadn’t done any knitting since I was at primary school so it was a bit of a shock. I bought the fattest needles I could find and I gave it a go. My mum donated many of her and my grandmother’s needles and eighteen months later I had managed to knit this blanket:

blanket

This is by no means a perfectly knitted blanket. My original intention had been to knit one square per day – how naive was I?! Sometimes a square would take me a whole week, never mind a day. There are some horrendous mistakes in this blanket but I have a real sense of achievement knowing that despite my errors, it is a lovely warm blanket, perfect for curling up under with my boys in front of a roaring fire and a good film.

 
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

